forestry department


Department of Forests, Ministry of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Environment  

Within the framework of the Cyprian Forest Law and Regulations, this Department is responsible for the management of all main and minor state forests, including National Park Forests and Forest Nature Reserves. It is also responsible for reforestation works and for the establishment of roadside plantations for the improvement of the natural landscape. The Department is extensively involved into the systematic study of Cyprus flora and fauna and especially into the conservation of endemic, rare and threatened plants. Recently their activities have focused on the study of the vegetation of Cyprus. The Department employs professionals with degrees in forestry (i.e. forest research and planning, landscape architecture, management of forests, parks and nature conservation, protection and preservation of wildlife, forest botany, etc.).

The Forestry Department was actively involved in several biodiversity conservation projects, including the Life Project for the inventory, identification, evaluation and mapping of the habitat types and flora and fauna species in Cyprus ("Special areas of conservation (Directive 92/43/EEC) in Cyprus" Life Third Countries - Contract No. B4 - 0000/98/000). It has been also one of the main partners in the Life Project on the implementation of conservation management actions in 5 Sites of Community Importance of Cyprus ("Conservation management in NATURA 2000 sites of Cyprus", LIFE04NAT_CY_000013), as well as in the project that resulted in the publication of the Red Data Book of the Cyprus Flora, which was funded by the Research Promotion Foundation of Cyprus.




logo en web



Open University of Cyprus


The Open University of Cyprus (OUC) was established in 2001 as the second State Institution of University Education in Cyprus offering both undergraduate and graduate courses as well as training and vocational programs based exclusively on the open and distance learning methodology. The University has three faculties (Pure and Applied Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences and Economics and Management), c.1000 graduate and undergraduate students. The Environmental Conservation and Management Postgraduate Studies Programme, School of Pure and Applied Sciences at the OUC was recently established with the aim to offer graduates the knowledge and transferable skills for the understanding of fundamental environmental patterns and processes and how these relate to society. 



 logo department of environment



Department of Environment, Ministry of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Environment


The Environment Department is placed at the Permanent Secretary's Office and, among others, is the coordinating service for Government programmes for the protection of the environment, heads the technical committee on environmental impact assessments, advises on environmental policy, is mandated to ensure the implementation of the environmental policy, administers the Law on the Control of Water Pollution, coordinates the process for the adoption of the European Union's environmental policy and legislation, coordinates the co-operation of Government agencies with international agencies and promotes environmental awareness, training and information. The Service is also the National Focal Point for the Commission of Sustainable Development, INFOTERPA, UNEP, the Basel Convention, CITES, the Montreal Protocol, the Biological Diversity Convention, the Climate Change Convention, etc.

The Environment Department covers legal and regulatory issues concerned with the implementation of the Habitat Directive in Cyprus.

It employs professionals on environment management, natural sciences, pollution control, geology and marine ecology.





NCU logo2



Frederick University - Nature Conservation unit


Frederick University (FU) is one of the six recognised Universities operating in the Republic of Cyprus. The University has a strong focus on academic research, being one of the leading research organisations in the country.

The Nature Conservation Unit (NCU) has been established in 2005 under FU and it specialises on biodiversity conservation and natural resources management in Cyprus. The Unit is the only department in the Cypriot academic system that focuses on nature conservation. The NCU draws from the experience of several collaborating scientists, graduate and postgraduate students with extensive experience on conservation biology and natural resources management.







Akti Project and Research Center


AKTI Project and Research Center is a non-governmental, non-profit organisation based in Nicosia, Cyprus. It was established in 2000 by a group of experts in environmental issues who shared the same vision: to promote environmental protection and sustainability principles, and activate civic engagement. AKTI succeeded today to create an extensive network of collaborators and volunteers for raising environmental awareness and promoting sustainable development. AKTI is collaborating with other non-governmental organisations, schools, local authorities, Universities and research centers in Cyprus and abroad, for combating environmental problems through applied research, public awareness raising campaigns, environmental education and training on environmental protection and preservation of natural resources.